What are you looking for?

Get help straight from the team at Userbrain

What happens when your Free Trial or Subscription ends?

Getting Started

What happens when your Free Trial or Subscription ends?

Last updated on 02 Oct, 2026

Your existing tests, recordings, and previously created results are not deleted. You can still access your account and existing data, but some features require an active subscription.

What you can still do

Without an active Free Trial or subscription, you can:

  • View all your existing tests and recordings.

  • View transcripts, reports, notes, clips, and AI Insights created before your subscription ended.

  • View your previous Ask Userbrain conversations.

  • Create one test setup per month. (Your allowance resets on your account signup date, not on the first day of each calendar month.)

  • Order testers using any remaining credits that weren't provided through the Free Trial or a subscription. If you order more testers than remaining credits, you will be prompted to purchase a subscription to complete your test.

  • Keep unlimited Guests with read-only access.

What you can no longer do

Without an active Free Trial or subscription, you cannot:

  • Invite your own testers.

  • Buy additional testers as a standalone purchase.

  • Create new transcripts.

  • Create AI Notes or AI Clips.

  • Create new AI Insights.

  • Ask new questions with Ask Userbrain.

  • Use other features that require an active subscription.

If you want to buy additional testers, you need to start an annual Flex plan from within your account.

What happens to your testers?

Any unused testers included with your Free Trial or paid subscription plan expire when the trial or subscription ends.

Tester credits that were previously purchased or accrued remain on your account and do not expire. You can continue using them to order testers while your account has no active subscription.

What happens to your team?

When your subscription ends:

  • The account owner remains the owner.

  • All other team members are changed to a Guest role with read-only access within your account.

  • You can keep unlimited Guests on the account.

If you subscribe again later, those team members remain Guests until the Account Owner changes their roles within the limits of the new plan.

For more information about Team member roles within your account: Userbrain Account Roles

What happens to new recordings?

You still receive the normal screen and audio recording when a test is completed.

When the recording arrives while your account is not within the Free Trial or has no active subscription, Userbrain does not automatically generate a transcript or AI outputs for the recording.

If you subscribe again later, you can generate these outputs within the recording's test.

Once your subscription is active, you can click to generate:

  • A transcript for each video.

  • AI Notes and AI Clips for individual videos.

  • AI Insights for the test.

  • New Ask Userbrain questions.

For example:

Generate transcript.png

What happens to your existing data?

Ending your Free Trial or subscription does not delete your data.

Your existing tests, recordings, transcripts, reports, notes, clips, Insights, and previous Ask Userbrain conversations remain available according to the access described above.

When you start a new subscription again, all features become available for your existing tests too. This includes tests completed before your new subscription started.

Ready to continue testing?

Start a new subscription to regain access to the full set of Userbrain testing and analysis features.

Was this page helpful?
Previous

What is a user test?

Next